ASSP Greater San Jose Chapter SPY Award – Congrats Jennifer Harris!

Jennifer Harris has provided strong guidance and leadership to our chapter, in various roles on the Executive committee, since 2012. She is currently our past president and shadowing the Area Director for Region 1, Area 2, assisting in chapter contact duties for local chapters (Greater San Jose, San Francisco and Sacramento). As part of a ROC subcommittee, she served on the group investigating Region-wide electronic file system options.

Her commitment to the organization is evidenced through her involvement at the various levels of ASSP. She has been a speaker at the San Francisco/Greater San Jose Chapter PDC (March 2016), Regionally at the Southern Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Conference (Oct. 2018) and at the National level, where she presented at two sessions at the Safety 2018 National conference (June 2018).

Jennifer continually demonstrates the passion she has as a safety professional, who gets involved to help others, as evidenced above. She is also a mentor for Women in Safety Excellence (WISE). We were very pleased this year to award her our Chapter SPY award. It was a well-deserved honor for a great supporter of the safety profession and awarding her Regional SPY.



ASSP Greater San Jose Chapter Achieves Gold Status

The ASSP Greater San Jose Chapter achieved Gold Chapter status for 2017-2018 term and recognized this accomplishment with membership at the August 14, 2018 technical meeting.


Jennifer Harris (Past President) presents the ASSP Gold Chapter award to Christy Foster (Immediate Past President)

The ASSP Greater San Jose Chapter Officers are pictured with the Gold Chapter Award.

ASSP Greater San Jose 2018 Summer Scholarship Winner

The ASSP Greater San Jose Chapter is proud to fund biannual scholarships for deserving college students interested in EH&S. Our $1,500 summer scholarship winners are Lee-Tan Lu and Dominic Casas, both from San Jose State University.

Lee-Tan (pictured below, right) is a graduate student in Environmental Studies. Her thesis project involves solar panel waste management and government regulations regarding extended producer responsibility in California. The panels create an environment and human health threat that she is hoping to solve with improved disposal strategies. She is an international student from Taiwan and she plans to use the scholarship to attend more professional conferences in the environmental field.

Jenny presenting Lee-Tan the scholarship at the Aug. 14 Technical meeting.

Dominic is an undergraduate Chemical Engineering student who plans to pursue a PhD in Environmental Engineering. He is passionate about sustainability and the global ecosystem, with work experience at NASA’s OMEGA FARM System and Thermo Fisher Scientific. His technical skills are matched by impressive interpersonal and leadership skills, with a reputation for being “vibrant, outgoing, personable, friendly, and inquisitive” according to his supervisor at Thermo

.Our chapter also funds a $250 scholarship for Las Positas Community College, which was awarded to Matt Chasm (pictured below, right).

Matt began his career as an equipment operator and foreman at a concrete and asphalt recycling program. He is now studying Occupational Safety and Health and working as a Safety and Compliance officer at Argent Materials. He hopes to one day become a CSP and QSP.

Jenny presenting Matt the scholarship at the Aug. 14 Technical meeting

Matt pictured at Las Positas Community College with couple of professors.

Congratulations to all of our scholarship award recipients!

ASSP – Greater San Jose Chapter Honors Jennifer Harris, Chapter President, with Service Award for 2017-2018

ASSP Greater San Jose Chapter recognizes Jennifer Harris for her outstanding service and dedication as Chapter President for the past year of 2017-2018.

The June Technical Meeting was Jennifer Harris last meeting as ASSP Greater San Jose Chapter President as she sets the stage for the the President-Elect, Dolores Bergen, to continue leading the chapter in promoting safety and health disciplines in the Greater San Jose area.

Pictured below is Dolores Bergen, Chapter President-Elect (right), presenting the Service Award Certificate to Jennifer Harris (left).

Special Recognition to the SPY Award Winner and Dedicated Service Honor

At the Dec. 12, 2017 Technical meeting, two ASSE Greater SJ members received special recogntion from the ASSE President Jen Harris.

Tyler Nguyen, CSP was Awarded the Chapter Safety Professional of the Year (SPY) award for his continuing involvement with the chapter, PASMA and key contributor to events such as the Bay Area Safety Symposium. Tyler has participated in Election and Nomination committees and has coordinated joint meetings with PASMA. He also leads a county-wide safety conference with over 600 attendees and ensures a diverse and interesting agenda each year. Congrats Tyler!

Read More

ASSE – BAESG Holiday Dinner 2017 Highlights

The ASSE Greater SJ and BAESG joint dinner was a joyous celebration of cheers, networking, and relaxation. Two scholarship winners from SJSU, Sue Kaur and Laura Bates, were honored at the holiday party for their impressive  work ethic and contributions to the EHS field.

Donations from attendees reached over $600 and went to aid the victims from the Northern California Wildfires. A special thank you to all who donated to a great cause that was so close to home.

The night ended with the customary prize raffle that included gift baskets, safety gadgets and other goodies. The scholarship applicants were even honored with a big gift basket.

Read More

Our Chapter Sponsors